2020 ANNUAL REPORT

North Dakota Recreation And Park Association



Advancing parks, recreation and conservation for an enhanced quality of life in North Dakota

····Year In Review ······

The North Dakota Recreation and Parks Association (NDRPA) was actively engaged in the 2020 **State Legislative Interim**, tracking studies relevant to the membership, such as tax reform, Legacy funding, government finance and constitutional amendments. NDRPA also met with Sen. John Hoeven's office to discuss proposed federal bills allocating COVID-19 relief funds directly to special districts.

The **Certified Playground Safety Inspector Course** was presented for the 18th year and for the first time as a virtual blended course in December. The North Dakota Insurance Reserve Fund (NDIRF) and North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department (NDPRD) sponsored the training.

The annual NDRPA State Conference and North Dakota Trails Conference were planned to be held jointly for the first time, but were cancelled due to COVID-19 restrictions.

The following NDRPA **awards** were presented: Distinguished Professional Award – RaNae Jochim, Bismarck Parks and Recreation District; Outstanding Young Professional – Ashley Martinson, Valley City Park District; Golden Egg – Veteran's Memorial Ballpark, Mandan Park District; Rustad Recreation Center, West Fargo Park District; Innovative Programming – Safety City, Dickinson Parks and Recreation; Partnership Award – New Rockford Eagles Club and New Rockford Lions Club; and Citizen Advocacy Award – Dana Schaar Jahner.

NDRPA continued its **publications**, the monthly electronic *NDRPA eUpdate*, the quarterly magazine *FOCUS* and the biennial *NDRPA Professional Directory*.



··· Membership ·

MEMBERSHIP TYPE	2020
Agencies	76
Professionals	463
Board Members	439
Allied Organizations	6
Allied Individuals	1
Universities/Colleges	2
Lifetime	11
Commercial	11
TOTAL	1,009

mai





Leadership 2019-2020

Board of Directors

- Kevin Klipfel, President
- Amy Pederson, Past President
- Sam Larson-Frobig, President Elect
- Mike Orr, Secretary/Treasurer
- Cole Higlin, Public Policy Chair
- Katie Ettish, Engagement Committee
- Matt Mack, Education Chair

Councils, Committees and Liaisons

- Hall of Fame Council Randy Bina, Chair
- Conference Committee Ethan Eberle and Ryan Geerdes, Chair
- Midwest Rep Darin Krueger
- North Dakota Community Forestry Council Dave Leker
- North Dakota Missouri River Advisory Council Randy Bina
- North Dakota Outdoor Heritage Fund Advisory Board Randy Bina



North Dakota Recreation & Park Association

PO Box 1091, Bismarck, ND 58502 Phone: 701-355-4458 Website: www.ndrpa.com Email: ndrpaoffice@gmail.com